Home » Uncategorized » Ch-Ch-Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes!

Ch-Ch-Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes!

So hubby and I tried something new in bed last week… You’re feeling scandalized, aren’t you?!  Don’t worry, this is totally mostly PG rated.

See, over the past couple of years we’ve run into a recurring problem.  Hubby is a night-owl, and is often up until the wee hours of the morning working on homework, and/or kicking virtual enemy ass on Call of Duty.  I, on the other hand, am an early riser. (I’d like to point out this is not my natural inclination, as anyone who has known me for any length of time can attest to. I greet the dawn with much moaning and gnashing of teeth) I try to get up between 5 and 5:30, to give myself plenty of time to get ready for the day.

As you may have surmised, this has caused problems. You see, the orientation of the room is such that anyone on the left side of the bed is subject to more disruptions as that is where the bath, closet and entry door are at. No matter how quiet I try to be, I frequently wake hubby up, so in an effort to correct this problem, we have swapped sides of the bed.

Oh.

Em.

Gee.

It is SO HARD to sleep on the other side of the bed. It feels wrong!  It took me all week just to figure out how to climb in.  This probably sounds ridiculous, but we have a super tall bed with a little footstool for me and the dogs to use.  I’m so used to climbing in from the right that coming in from the opposite site has completely flummoxed me.  I have less than no coordination – so like, negative coordination, and I bet if someone videotaped me trying to get into bed the first couple of nights after we made the switch – we probably could win America’s Funniest Home Videos.

It’s thrown the dogs off course too.  They keep forgetting to use the step stool on the right side of the bed and go around and try to jump up from the ground on the left.  Of course, they are short and often miss, so I just see a brief glimpse of a furry body trying to jump up and then a soft thump when they hit the floor in failure.

Thankfully, the switch seems to have worked for hubby – he claims he’s sleeping better and I didn’t wake him up once last week. Hopefully my coordination improves soon!!!

2 thoughts on “Ch-Ch-Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes!

  1. Guy likes to sleep closest to the door, so he periodically makes me sleep on the wrong side. I guess it keeps me flexible, because I usually adjust with in the first few minutes. I really hope you don’t roll off the bed though… 😉

  2. We had to switch sides of the bed last November when I had back surgery. In order to get into bed, I had to step up on a platform which allowed me to sit easily. It droved us both nuts and we were both glad to switch back when I was well enough. I applaud you for making a permanent change! (Poor dogs. Will they ever get it?)

Whatcha Thinkin?

