Home » Uncategorized » It’s a Kindle!!!

It’s a Kindle!!!

I’m so excited about this recent acquisition… it’s the 3rd generation Kindle with built-in 3G and wireless.  What this means in a nutshell is that I can download e-books anywhere, anytime – as long as my cell phone has coverage, so does my Kindle.  Of course I have to pay for the books – some of them anyways.  There are hundreds of thousands of free e-books that can be downloaded from Amazon.com, as well as other sites.  There are also games, magazines, and blog subscriptions that I can access.

I’ve only had it for a couple of days and with all of my homework, I haven’t had a chance to truly test-drive it.  However, my initial impression is very, very positive.  The new generation of Kindle features a high-contrast “E-Ink” screen that is meant to be more realistic to reading print on paper.  It’s impressive in its clarity – the image above is a “screen-saver” of sorts – the Kindle is actually turned off.  Every time you power it down, it uploads a different screen – often pictures of famous authors (Twain, the Bronte’s; Woolf, etc). 

I’ll report back with a more robust review in a few weeks.  I have a vacation coming up that this will be quite handy for and I imagine I’ll spend quite a bit of time with my newest toy.  If you want to learn more about the Kindle, click here.

2 thoughts on “It’s a Kindle!!!

  1. Kayla, you’ve gone to the dark side! I imagine there are lots of positives about a Kindle, but I hate the thought of them replacing books. Books you can smell, set on shelves, write in. But I will be interested to see how you like it as you get to use it more. I hope there is a place in the world for both Kindles and books!

  2. Jealous! I love my real books, but often it’s so cumbersome taking them with me and I’m always worried that they will get damaged. Whenever I go on trips I take ten books, because I’m not sure which ones I’ll want to read at any given moment.

    I think you should give us another review in a couple of weeks after you’ve had a chance to familiarise yourself with it. I’m curious to hear your thoughts on it replacing real books – I think that even if I had a Kindle, I’d still have real books because, as Carolyn says above, you can SMELL books. Nothing better 🙂

Whatcha Thinkin?

