Home » Uncategorized » How Time Flies

How Time Flies

Thirteen years ago, I moved to Boise and my very first job here was working as a Nanny for a family with 3 children.  Marie was 8 years old, Billy was 6, and Jane was 11 months old.  I worked for them for three and a half years and have stayed in touch over the years.

Tonight, I attended Jane’s 8th grade graduation.  Last Sunday, Marie graduated from college and is moving to D.C. this fall to start graduate school at Georgetown University.  Billy, (oops, now he’s just Bill) is finishing his second year of college, majoring in industrial psychology.

I am in equal parts incredibly proud and incredibly amazed at what wonderful people these kids have become/are becoming.  I was privileged to be a part of their formative years and have very fond memories of taking part in the normal, every-day activities of a young, growing family.  I remember Jane around 18 months old trying to walk around the house in my shoes, and trying to con everyone around her into letting her have another cookie; Billy working on a science fair project involving circuits and his voracious appetite for chinese food; and Marie, the requisite scholar, with a deep-seeded hatred of folding laundry.

Oh, how they have grown!  But I still see the young children they each were.  It’s been incredibly rewarding to be able to be a part of their lives (even if from a distance now) and watch those young, eager personalities blossom into the individuals that they are today.

Marie, Bill and Jane – you are all amazing and I’m so proud of each of you!

3 thoughts on “How Time Flies

  1. Boise is a wonderful city! I love it there. Ever go for a swim in Lucky Peak Lake? 🙂

    It is amazing to see kids become adults. It really puts time in serious perspective.

    I’m sure you were a wonderful force of influence on them and are part of the reason for their success.

  2. Thanks Shout – and thanks for being such a loyal follower! It’s always nice to know one’s ramblings are heard…most of the time anyway. 😉

  3. Yes, I am loyal to you. 🙂

    I’m very interested to see what the future holds in the next chapter you write. I know it’s going to be good!

Whatcha Thinkin?

