Home » Uncategorized » Up from the grave…

Up from the grave…

It’s been a rough couple of days.  I returned from vacation and managed to haul my carcass into work this past Wednesday, get through 189 unread e-mails and tackle a few large tasks, thinking that Thursday would be my day to really start getting things accomplished.  I was feeling very optimistic, internet!  Sadly,  a mere 2 hours into Thursday morning, an overwhelming sense of nausea swept over me and I had to dash home to worship the porcelain god for the next 48 hours.  And to think I didn’t even get the benefit of drinking too many margarita’s before being sentenced to such a fate!

Today was the first day I attained an upright and conscious status, which I count as a definite “win”.  Hubby has taken good care of me, bringing me soup and Gatorade and drugs in varying dosages.  I blame the muscle relaxer for the dream I awoke from this morning.  It was a musical (of course!), involving me and a bunch of angels singing, “Up from the grave she arose!  With a mighty pimple on her nose!”  I kid you not.  This is the kind of stuff my subconscious comes up with when left to its own devices for too long.  And it was slightly prophetic in that I do have a suspicious red spot on the side of my nose and I do feel like I’ve risen from a grave.  Coincidence?  I think not.

What cracks me up about this song is that I remember it quite clearly from my childhood.  My dad has an awesome baritone voice and loves old hymns.  He used to belt out that song on Sunday (and quite possibly other) mornings to get us out of bed.  If you aren’t familiar with the song here’s a sampling (skip the first 45 seconds):

Ok, so the lyrics are supposed to go:

Low in the grave He lay, Jesus my saviour,
Waiting the coming day, Jesus my Lord
Up from the grave He arose!
With a mighty triumph o’er his foes!
He arose the victor o’er the dark domain
And He lives forever with his saints to reign!

But, as a kid, here’s what I heard and consequently sang:

Low in the gravy lay… Jesus my saviour.
Waiting the corny day…Jesus my Lord
Up from the gravy arose! 
With a mighty triumph o’er his toes!
He arose the Victor of the dark domain
And He lives forever with his saints to rain!!

I’m famous in my family for singing the wrong lyrics to songs.  🙂

I hope you all have wonderful plans for your weekend. I hope to squeeze out every last drop of rest and relaxation I can get before returning to work on Monday.  I’m so dreading the work load that awaits me.  Not to mention, I hate that I left my team short-handed for two days, although I’m pretty sure they wouldn’t have wanted me present given my condition.  (The sound of vomiting does tend to put a damper on team meetings).  Still, with my combination of scheduled and unscheduled absences, I may return to my cube to find tacks on my chair and an onion taped to the bottom of my desk (best prank ever, trust me). Yikes.

Here’s wishing you all a very Happy (and healthy!) Easter!!

Is it wrong that I find this hilarious?

One thought on “Up from the grave…

  1. 189 emails is a lot. But that’s only about 1/2 of a regular morning at work for me. 🙂

    I think you must have been suffering from Vacation-Over-Too-Quickly sickness. Or maybe it was a bug.

    Grats on upright and conscious. Hope you’re back to 100% soon. 🙂

Whatcha Thinkin?

