Home » Uncategorized » Diamonds aren’t a girls best friend

Diamonds aren’t a girls best friend

Does anyone else find commercials for jewelry stores completely irritating, manipulative and over-the-top schmaltzy?  I’ve been bombarded both on t.v. and radio lately with ads designed to convince a person (mostly the man of the household) that Christmas just isn’t Christmas (and an engagement just isn’t an engagement) without diamonds under the tree/on your finger.  The phrases “Diamonds are forever” and “A kiss begins with K” and “He went to Jareds!?! ” are just about enough to cause spontaneous vomit on my part. (Sorry if you were eating when you read that)

Apparently my husband and I just got it all wrong when became engaged.  In fact, if we ever divorce I’m sure I can make a solid case that the core reason behind it was that he didn’t go into thousands of dollars of debt over a diamond for my engagement ring.  And women around the world (mostly the kind who appear on Bridezilla) will no doubt rise up in my defense and agree that yes, it is all his fault because everyone knows that the successful foundation for marriage is a platinum wedding band and at least 1 1/2 carats of diamonds.

What were we thinking!!!

Do you want to know the ugly truth?  (Lean in close now, I don’t want the proprietor of Lee Read Jewelers to overhear this and having a heart attack right where he stands)

I’ve had 3 “fake” engagement/wedding rings – including the one I wear today, and I love every single one of them. 

My first engagement ring was bought by my sweetie at Wal-Mart, from the costume jewelry section.  It had a heart-shaped “diamond-like” center stone with 2 other “diamond-like” stones framing it.  It probably cost less than $10.  Tim was ready to propose and didn’t want to wait.  Even more important, he knew I wouldn’t want him to wait.  He brought it with him to my place of work, got down on one knee outside my cubicle, and asked me to marry him.  I threw my paperwork up in the air and ecstatically said yes. (That’s 100% true, except for the throwing of the paperwork.)

A little less than a year later, we returned to Wal-Mart and purchased a cubic zirconia solitaire and matching gold bands.  Our wedding budget was quite modest and although both of us would have preferred something a little different, a little nicer, we found what suited our needs at the time.  I don’t think anyone at our wedding was pondering the authenticity of the stone when we exchanged vows.  (In fact, they probably spent more time pondering why the bride’s face was so flushed.  Seriously…I don’t know if it was nerves or heat, but I was purple!  Ahem..moving on…)

A few years into our marriage, money matters had improved, and I had been hearing a lot of good things about a diamond-like stone called moissanite.  Moissanite is man-made and can easily be confused with diamonds, but is a fraction of the cost.  It’s double-refractive, whereas a diamond is only single-refractive, so it actually out-ranks the big D in the sparkle department.  I had been doing a lot of “window-shopping” online and knew the look that I wanted for my “forever” ring.  Apparently hubby took notice.  He surprised me by ordering a new solitaire, set in white gold, and we later found a “wrap” band that added two small diamonds to either side of the solitaire and completed my wedding set.  (For the record, hubby also received a couple of upgrades in wedding bands over the years.  He now has a collection to choose from)

My point is this: having to wait a few years to get the ring I always wanted hasn’t hurt our marriage one single iota.  In fact, the drama over how I (don’t) wrap up the vacuum cleaner cord, or how Tim loads the dishwasher has caused greater friction in our marriage than what kind of ring sits on my finger.  I get mad when I think about the propoganda that’s being spread – not just by jewelers, but the wedding industry at-large – purporting that a man should put down 3 months worth of wages (yup, that’s the accepted standard) on an engagement ring.  Never mind how much pressure is put forth for how much is spent on the wedding itself – that’s a whole other blog post.

And it gets worse!  The poor guy goes broke securing the ring, and somehow pays (or finances) the wedding, and then the holidays roll around and there’s commercials pushing diamond earrings, necklaces, and bracelets.  Show the one you love how much you care…by getting a second mortgage so you can shower her with diamonds! 

Now please, don’t get me wrong – I’m a big fan of the sparkly stuff.  I’m a girly-girl at heart and I LOVE it when my sweetie buys me jewelry.  And I don’t care if people finance a ring or other jewelry if they know they have the means to pay it off in a timely manner AND it doesn’t involve the sale of their firstborn.  I just don’t want my man, (or anyone else’s man for that matter), to feel obligated or manipulated into purchasing something simply because it’s what popular culture dictates.  Puh-leaze… popular culture has been responsible for some of the lamest, most ridiculous trends around, including reality tv shows, cell phones for 5 year olds and the Snuggie.  (Ok, I’m joking about the Snuggie…it’s actually kinda comfy. Don’t ask me how I know this.) 

My point is that when it comes to expressing your love and affection for someone, it’s better to leave popular culture out of it.  Spending extravagantly on gifts for the one you love isn’t going to strengthen your relationship or make a difference twenty years from now.  (Especially if you’re still paying them off!)  It’s the schmaltziest saying around and I can’t believe I’m going to endorse it, but it really is “the thought that counts”.

The End.

Rant Over.

Good Night.

4 thoughts on “Diamonds aren’t a girls best friend

  1. Oh my…. Kayla, had I known this at the time, I’m not sure that I would have been able to stand up for you at your wedding.

    We were all sorts of backwards.

    Because of distance, Mark asked my dad for permission to marry on Christmas Eve. I knew this was going to happen. Everyone knew it was going to happen. (It was still nerve-wracking though.) Mark wanted me to get what I wanted in a ring, so I went shopping. I gave him my list of favorites to choose from. I ended up being with him when it was put on lay-away. We started making wedding plans and set a date, without an actual marriage proposal. My mom and I were at a bridal fair where we got a $50 off coupon for the jewelery store that my engagement ring was lay-away. My mom strong-armed…. errrr…. talked the saleslady into using the coupon towards the layway. Mark told me that he wasn’t going to be able to get my ring off layaway until shortly before our wedding. I didn’t love the idea of an “engagement” without a ring, but oh well. Then for my 25th birthday on February 1, 2003, he surprised me with my ring. It was on layaway a little over a month. I still love it. And it was nowhere near 3 months of salary. It wasn’t even a month of salary. And it wasn’t years of payments. I can’t imagine wearing 3 months of salary on my finger. That would make me nervous!

  2. Kayla, that was fabulous and hilarious! Heaven knows I don’t have my own experience in wedding/engagement rings but I think what you say sounds perfect.

    Yay for your common sense and intelligence!

  3. You make some very good points. In my opinion, the “two months salary” thing is pure propaganda. Why do people buy into that as a guideline? Is it just because DeBeers pushed that? It is nice if a young couple can afford that, but I think it is unnecessary to make that a rule of thumb. The “two months salary” line is like saying “but it’s a dry heat!”

    My advice – do your research and make a purchase based upon your means. You can always upgrade down the road.

    Oh, yeah – and pick something that makes you happy! 🙂

  4. Pingback: 2010 in review « Kayla Said…

Whatcha Thinkin?

