Home » Uncategorized » Accidental Genius

Accidental Genius

Yesterday I wanted a quick, easy meal I could throw in the crock pot and be done with.  We had a 2-3 lb pork roast in the freezer that needed to be used up, so I decided to try shredded pork, Mexican-style, to make burritos with later.

When I walked through the door last night, the entire house smelled perfectly amazing.  Hubby couldn’t say enough nice things about how good it smelled and tasted and I am definitely adding this recipe to my repertoire.

Here’s how you do it: (I highly recommend using a crock pot, but I’m sure you could use a roasting pan and do the same thing in the oven)

1 pork roast (around 3 lbs or whatever will mostly fill up your crock pot)
2-3 chopped onions
1 can diced tomatoes & chile’s (like Ro*Tel)
1 can (small) Chipotle Chile’s in adobo sauce

Throw the onions in the crock pot first, the add the pork roast.  Dump the canned tomatoes & chile’s on top and follow with the chipotle chile’s.  Add about 1/4 cup of water.  Cook on low 8 to 10 hours or until tender and shreds easily with a fork.

I think the chipotle chile’s are the key to the fabulous flavor.  They are spicy, but they lend the meat such a great smoky flavor.  I just laid them on top of the roast and removed them before shredding & serving.  That way I got the benefit of the smokiness without too much spice.

We ate this shredded in a tortilla with monterey jack cheese and a bit of sour cream.  I added cilantro to mine, but hubby’s not a big fan.  You could also add lettuce, freshly diced tomatos, guacamole, etc.

You must try this, it’s SUPER YUMMY!!

One thought on “Accidental Genius

Whatcha Thinkin?

