Home » Uncategorized » Idiocy

Idiocy

I called our mortgage company yesterday with some questions.  I received an automated system stating that their offices were only open until 9 p.m. EST and to please call back tomorrow.  Except I was calling at 5:05 pm, so even with the 2 hour time delay, they should have been able to answer, right?

Whatever.

So I called back.  And got excited when my call was actually answered.  However, I was then very apologetically informed that they couldn’t help me with my question, and I needed to call a different department.  That really was closed for the day.

Of course. 

Sooo… this morning I dutifully dialed this different department (say that 3 times fast).  And was placed on hold while my account was “being reviewed”.  Only to be told once more, in that uber-polite-but-I-don’t-really-give-a-damn-about-your-problem tone of voice, that I needed to call yet another number to find get my answers.  Yuu know, because their system was down, blah blah blah, and the planets were out of alignment, blah, blah, blah and this is just the way my cookie crumbles lately.

By this time I was at work and unable to linger in the parking lot any longer. And I scribbled the number on a piece of paper that was left behind on my passenger seat, so I shall be attempting once again when I get done with work this evening.

Because I have time for this kind of stuff.  Yeah, I honestly have nothing better to do with my time than to make endless phone calls to answer a simple question.

How about I just stop sending them money?  I bet they’ll be calling me if I did so.  And maybe, just maybe, I”ll be putting them on “hold” and telling them they need to call a different number to get some answers.

This idea may have merit.

2 thoughts on “Idiocy

  1. I feel your pain. I had a similar experience before we moved to our current house. The mortgage company had overpaid our taxes and then had the nerve to up our payment $200 a month. I fixed them. . .we sold the house and moved to our current home. That isn’t why we did it, but I remember thinking “Sweet, I’ll get my $200 back!”

  2. Lol – that’s great. Nothing better than those moments of sweet justice…even if it wasn’t strictly by design.

Whatcha Thinkin?

