Home » Uncategorized » Book Fair Haul

Book Fair Haul

Friday was book fair day at work.  I did my duty in supporting the American Heart Association by purchasing the following:

book-fair1

My haul included:

The 13 ½ Lives of Captain Bluebear – Walter Moers
Lord John & The Hand of Devils – Diana Gabaldon
Night – Elie Wiesel
Searching for Caleb – Anne Tyler
The Scarlet Pimpernel – Baroness Orczy
Wuthering Heights – Emily Bronte
Emma – Jane Austen
Backwater – Joan Bauer
Smith of Wootton Major & Farmer Giles of Ham – J.R.R. Tolkien
Plato Selections – Edited by Raphael Demos
Descartes Selections – Edited by Ralph Eaton

You will note there is not a single Nora Roberts novel in sight.  🙂 Although there were plenty there to choose from, and I’ll admit I had a moment of temptation.  However, I had a thought while perusing the selection.  Although everything was very affordably priced, and I by no means am giving up reading Nora Roberts all-together, I decided that it doesn’t make sense to spend money on books that I won’t re-read or recommend/lend to friends.  That’s what libraries are for I think. 

I wanted to beef up my selection of classics and think I did a fairly decent job of that with Austen, Bronte, Plato and Descartes.  But I also have a couple that should just be plain fun.  Such as The 13 1/2 lives of Captain Bluebear.  I have no idea what to expect with that one.  It just looked too fun to pass up.

I completed Sense and Sensibility mid-weekend and felt a satisfaction I don’t often feel when finishing a book.  I’ve tried to write a paragraph to explain my thoughts about ten times now and am going to have to give it up and tackle it in a seperate post.  Too much to say and not enough clarity in this moment to lay it out!  Suffice it to say I am charmed and captivated.  (And decided that I’m much more like Marianne, although I’d prefer to be an Elinor…sigh)  Eager to read another, I have started Persuasion, and as you see above, have Emma queued up for #3.  I hear Pride & Prejudice is perhaps her best work, so I’ll have to lay hands on a copy of that one soon. ..

For any Austen fans reading this post, I’m curious – which book is your favorite?

Whatcha Thinkin?

