Home » Uncategorized » This could be irritating to some people…

This could be irritating to some people…

So don’t say I didn’t warn you!

Inspired by A Thrifty Mom, I’ve been clipping coupons for the last three weeks, accumulating a huge, unruly collection, and eyeing the weekly sale ads.  It all finally paid off today, with the following haul:

grocery-haul

For slightly under $10.00, I bought: 4 cans Pringles potato chips, 2 containers Lysol disinfecting wipes, 6 Yoplait yogurts, 1 Wishbone spritzer salad dressing, a dozen eggs, package of bacon, Cascade Pride sourdough muffins, 2 McCormick grill seasonings (not shown) and a bag of Hershey’s Bliss chocolates. 

Not as good as the Thrify Mom probably could have done, but pretty impressive for little ol me.  The recommended trick is to clip all coupons, as you never know when something will go on sale, then combine coupons with already discounted sale or clearance items.  This week, Albertsons had 4 coupons in their Sunday flyer that doubled the value of any manufacturers coupon, and Winco had coupons for free eggs, bacon and sourdough muffins.  So I paid only sales tax on the pringles, eggs, bacon and muffins.  Everything else was $1.00 a piece or less.

I don’t know if I have the stamina to keep up with the constant coupon clipping and sorting, sale ad watching and multiple store visits required to make the most of coupon discount shopping.  Plus, as repeatedly proven by my friend Mandi, it is entirely possible to eat very inexpensively without clipping coupons at all.  But there is a certain amount of fun to be found with bargain hunting. 

Next, I plan to investigate the benefits of the rebate system at Walgreens and Rite-Aid.  Good times!

5 thoughts on “This could be irritating to some people…

  1. Ooh! Good work. But I bested you on the Winco freebies. My MIL found three extra flyers in the trash next to her PO Box. I took four trips but I have a freezer full of free bacon and english muffins. The eggs are nearly gone though.

  2. Overachiever! I was thinking of you when I was at Winco…Oh to have access to throwaway coupon/sale ads! Lol…

  3. Wow good job. Hope you don’t mind, but i would like to post just what you found and your grocery photo. I plan on posting it at 11:45 am on 3-26 (mtn) I just love showing off what new readers get. let me know if you prefer i dont post it.

  4. Thrifty Mom – I’d be tickled to have you include my shopping experience in your blog! I’m a frequent visitor and enjoy seeing what kind of deals you put together. Thanks!

Whatcha Thinkin?

