Home » Uncategorized » Last Words

Last Words

Did you know that famed painter and bird enthusiast John J Audubon’s final word (reportedly) was “ducks”?

Appropriate enough for him I suppose. It does make one wonder if the final words of other individuals so nicely reflect or sum up their life’s enthusiasm. For example, do you suppose Marie Antoinette muttered “damn cake” before the blade of the guillotine fell?

I actually stumbled across a sight that chronicles the last words of famous people.  You can check it out here.  I found some of them to be highly entertaining.  Such as:

“How were the receipts today at Madison Square Garden?” – P.T. Barnum

“Am I dying or is this my birthday?” – Lady Nancy Astor (spoken when she awoke to find her family surrounding her bed

“I should never have switched from Scotch to Martini’s” – Humphrey Bogart

“I am about to – or I am going to – die: either expression is correct” – French grammarian Dominique Bouhours

“I knew it.  I knew it.  Born in a hotel room – and Damn it  – Died in a hotel room” – Eugene O’Neill

“Either that wallpaper goes, or I do”  – Oscar Wilde

And of course, there are a few touching ones as well…

“Oh I am not going to die, am I?  He will not separate us, we have been so happy.” – Charlotte  Bronte to her husband of 9 months, Rev Arthur Nicolls.

“Beautiful” – Elizabeth Barrett Browning in response to her husband when he asked her how she was feeling.

“I have tried so hard to do the right” – President Grover Cleveland

“Turn up the lights.  I don’t want to go home in the dark”  – O’Henry

“I love you Sarah.  For all eternity,  I love you”  – President James Polk

I hope my own last words are memorable whether they’re funny or serious.  Although, knowing me I’ll be trying to be serious but it will come off as funny/weird.  Come to think of it though, I like the idea of leaving my family shaking their heads.  It would be a very Kayla thing to do…

famous-last-words

Whatcha Thinkin?

