Home » Uncategorized » 6 Random things about me…

6 Random things about me…

I’ve been tagged by Megan to do a post about 6 random things about me…it shouldn’t be too hard considering almost everything about me is random.  So here goes:

#1 – I live for road trips, but can never stay awake for more than 45 minutes before the rhythm of the road lulls me to sleep.  It drives my husband crazy because we frequently make the 14-15 hour drive to Arizona to visit his family and I am little to no help when it comes to companionship.  In my defense, we often travel at night which is a double whammy.  But it’s not a whole lot better during the day.  Interestingly enough, when I drive alone, it’s much less of an issue.  My theory is I’m more alert when I drive alone because I get to listen to music or radio that I normally would.  Hubby and I enjoy a lot of the same kinds of music, but don’t always agree on what we’re in the mood for.

#2 – I love paper.  I adore it.  Little notebooks, unique sticky notes, leather bound journals, wire bound notebooks – they all equal sheer bliss.  It takes everything in me to avoid the office supply section at Target.  I think this is part of the reason I enjoy reading so much.  Most of it is the content of the book itself, of course, but there is a significant part of the joy that comes from the feeling of the pages beneath my fingers, the comforting weight of the book in my hands.  If you want to get on my good side, just slip me a funky notebook with textured pages, or a small hardback book that nestles perfectly in the palm of my hand.

#3 – I type freakishly fast.  I think the last time I was tested it was around 90 words per minute.  I particularly enjoy typing on my laptop, although my error ratio is a bit higher due to the smaller keyboard.  I learned how to type on a good old fashioned typewriter in 9th grade, and fell in love with the clickety clack noise of the keys.  The computer keyboard is slightly less satisfying as far as the “click” goes, but still produces a satisfying sound.

#4 – I have a permanent ridge on the nail bed of my left ring finger from an injury when I was a kid.  My finger got pinched between two irrigation pipes I was helping (hahahah, heeeheeeeheee, hohohohoho!) my dad hook together.  We were changing the pipe while the water was still on, so the water pressure was high, it was getting dark, everything was wet, and well…I’m a klutz.  My finger turned purple and my nail eventually fell off (very gross and very cool) and there’s been a groove in my nail bed ever since.

#5 – I cannot sleep without some kind of “white noise” in the background.  I was conditioned as a child to sleep to the sound of the fan (I swear it was my mom’s doing, but she said us kids initiated it ourselves) and I think I’ve effectively ruined my husband in the same way.  We have both a fan and a noise machine in our bedroom, and when our neighbors are particularly loud we utilize both.

#6 – My head is freakishly large.  No really, it is.  I have what my husband affectionately refers to as “the Kinder melon” (my maiden name).  I think I inherited this trait from my dad’s side of the family (sorry Pops) although my oldest brother suffered more so than I did.  Poor kid couldn’t lift his own head until he was 6 months old.  (I may have made that up, but it’s family legend now, so who am I to correct it?)  I myself was bald until I was two, so the largeness of my melon was much more prominent.  I’d like to think it’s because my brain is so incredibly large, but somehow I doubt it.  It’s made hat wearing very difficult, I must say.

Ok, that’s it.  6 things you could have totally gone the rest of your life without knowing and still been fine.  🙂

I hereby tag:

Mandi
Quinners
Niki

Ha!  You’re it!

One thought on “6 Random things about me…

Whatcha Thinkin?

