Home » Uncategorized » Recovery!

Recovery!

meds

I’m finally feeling back to normal after a full week of battling what turned out to be asthmatic bronchitis (sounds more impressive than it is, really).  The label above is from one of 4 meds the doctor prescribed for me on Monday.  I got the requisite antibiotic, a liquid cough syrup with coedeine (featured above) steroids in pill form (not for muscle bulking) and a swell inhaler to help me with breathing.

Turns out NyQuil doesn’t hold a candle to prescription strength drugs.  I started feeling better within 24 hours, and while I’m not yet fully recovered, I’m feeling so much more like my old self that it was totally worth the co-pay. 

This has turned out to be a remarkably productive week considering I spent a good chunk of it hanging out under the covers.  I started reading David McCullough’s biography of John Adams and am thoroughly engrossed.  I love the letters between John and his wife Abigail.  If only we could all speak so intelligently and insightfully in our observations of the times around us.  Consider the words of Abigail, in a letter to her husband John (whom she often address as “my dear friend” – delightful)

“You cannot be, I know, nor do I wish to see you, an inactive spectator…We have too many high sounding words, and too few actions that correspond with them”.

john-adams

I’m not near the end, so it may be premature to recommend it, but nonetheless, I do. 

Tomorrow I hope to get some Christmas shopping done, be industrious around the house (must clean, sort and organize before decking the halls!), and get some requisite errand running done.  Wish me luck!

One thought on “Recovery!

  1. Um, your blog is “snowing” little tiny black and white squares. Why?

    I’m sorry to hear about the asthmatic bronchitis, I also have bronchitis, so I sympathise.

Whatcha Thinkin?

