Home » Uncategorized » Relief…

Relief…

For the first time in about 4 months, I am going to bed without popping an acid-reducing pill and 2-3 Extra Strength Tums.  Although I’ve managed to lose 20 pounds in the last 3 months (don’t get too excited, I gained those same 20 pounds earlier this year) I’ve not done it in the healthiest manner and the end result is an inflamed stomach and a whole lot of reflux.  So today I visited my band-doctor and had my band deflated until the inflammation goes down – typically 2 to 4 weeks.

It’s a mixed blessing.  On the one hand, it’s SO FREAKING AWESOME to not have heartburn at bedtime, to be able to eat healthy foods I’ve had to limit or avoid (like raw veggies – usually too bulky for me) and to be able to take a big ol swig of water instead of steady sipping.  On the flip side however, I can pretty much eat whatever I want, whenever I want and typically that spells T-R-O-U-B-L-E for me.  I’m not exactly known for my self-control in that area.  (Truthfully, I’m not exactly known for my self-control in any area!)

I’m planning to step up the exercise to try and counter the additional calories and I need to stock up on healthy, low-calorie meal and snack options.  Any ideas from ya’ll?  I’m just about convinced I’ve heard them all, but my brain has been rather swiss-cheese like lately, so I’m sure I’ve forgotton some oldies but goodies.  I’m a little concerned about Daylight Savings Time ending, as it shortens the amount of daylight hours I have after work to walk the dog.  That’s my primary source of exercise right now and I know I’m going to need to find some alternatives for the winter months…

2 thoughts on “Relief…

  1. Of course you have self control! If you didn’t how could you pass up on my obvious awesomeness and homemade zucchini bread in order to go to Mass?

    Seriously though…

    Park as far from work as you can. Ditto at the grocery store. Shop only on the outside edges of said store. And umm…don’t ask me for recipes cause they will be so yummy and so fattening….

Whatcha Thinkin?

