Home » Uncategorized » Tap-Tap..is this thing on?

Tap-Tap..is this thing on?

Sorry for falling off the blogosphere lately.  I haven’t really felt like writing or thinking about writing lately.  What I have been doing is reading.  And reading.  And reading.  By my last count I’ve read 10 books in the last 2 weeks.  I’ve always been a voracious reader, but this is impressive (obsessive?) even for me. 

 

 

If you talk to my mom she will tell you that I was the same (if not worse) as a child.  I would stay up past my bedtime, with a flashlight under the covers, desperate to find out what would happen in the next chapter.  I won all the read-a-thons at the local library.  I took a book with me wherever I went.  It got to the point that a common punishment for me was to be grounded from reading.  I am the only child I know of whose parents confiscated their library card as a consequence of bad behavior.  I think they were worried that I was doing too much living in my head and not enough out in real life.  I think my husband worries about the same thing, lol. 

 

 

The good news is I’ve expanded my repertoire of reading material quite a bit over the last several years.  It used to be that the bulk of my reading came from what I affectionately refer to as “trashy” romance novels.  Hey don’t knock ’em, they got me through my single years…and provided quite an education along the way (wicked grin). 

 

 

Recently I’ve been adding in more non-fiction, from history to biographies to social sciences, and of course, religion.  I still read an obscene amount of contemporary fiction, but (in my mind at least) the quality of the content is much improved over my Harlequin days.  Anytime I can’t predict the outcome of a novel I count it as decent writing.  Predictability is a trap all too many authors fall into and it’s refreshing to read something that is so compelling I find myself huddled under the covers, my mini-book light on, trying not to wake my husband as I turn the pages and hold my breath to see what happens next.  This is the joy of reading for me.

 

 

Is it an escape from reality?  Sure.  Is that a bad thing?  Not in my universe.  I’ll have to post more about this later as I suspect my internet connection is about to go the way of poodle skirts and beehive hairdo’s.  Hubby’s flying online in the next room…it’s sucking the life right out of my wirelss signal…or I’m sucking the life right out of his virtual helicopter..at any rate let’s avoid unnecessary loss of life, virtual or otherwise, and pick up this discussion tomorrow.

One thought on “Tap-Tap..is this thing on?

  1. Can we hear what books you’ve been reading? I’d love to comment on it. :wicked grin of my own:

    Seriously though, give us a review or two?

Whatcha Thinkin?

