Home » Uncategorized » Token

Token

Tim called me at work today to let me know that something was wrong with our cat, Token.  He meowed, which was the first indication that all was not right.  Token has always been more of the strong, silent type.  I don’t think I’ve ever heard him actually meow.  When Tim came around the corner to find him laying in the hallway, Token tried to stand and Tim realized he could not lift the lower back of his body.  I came home from work and we rushed him to the emergency vet.  The diagnosis was Hypertrophic Cardiomyopathy, which has a secondary condition that caused a blood clot to get stuck and cause partial paralysis.  Treatment is expensive and ultimately ineffective, and the animal is usually kept unconscious so as to avoid pain.

Tim and I made the decision to have Token euthanized.  It was one of the hardest things I’ve ever had to do, but he was in excrutiating pain and I know it was the right choice.  We love our animals very much – they are like furry children to us.  I know that might not make sense to some people, but those of you who have been close to, and lost, a pet will know what I mean.  The worst is knowing they are in pain and not being able to help them.

The picture above was taken shortly after Token appeared in our lives, and the picture below taken a few weeks ago.  He was a stray cat we used to feed at our old apartment and he quickly burrowed his way into our hearts.  He was quiet, easy-going, and affectionate and to say I will miss him is a huge understatement.

2 thoughts on “Token

  1. I’m sorry honey….I know what your going through. Hug your other furry babies extra tight!

Whatcha Thinkin?

