Home » Uncategorized » Unbelievable Banana Bread

Unbelievable Banana Bread

A couple of months ago, I borrowed a cookbook from my good friend Mandy called the Bride & Groom First & Forever Cookbook.  I had seen it in her house before and figured it would likely be filled with over-the-top gourmet recipes with exotic ingredients and complicated instructions.  I figured I might photo-copy 1 or 2 recipes tops.  I couldn’t have been more wrong.  I ended up copying over 20 recipes and have tried 6 of them.  The results have been so good that I’m thinking of buying my own copy of the book.  Among the top recipes: Chicken Pot Pie, Mushroom Risotto, Kick-ass Chili (my title) and most recently: Unbelievable Banana Bread.

I baked the bread last night and the recipe produced two loaves.  I took one to work which was mostly devoured by noon and after hubby got a taste this evening, the other loaf is almost gone.  Here’s whats left:

It didn’t end up looking too great, but the flavor was out of this world.  I didn’t have buttermilk on hand and substituted heavy cream which probably made it too dense.  It was either that or skim milk and I didn’t want to under-do it.  The recipe has you toast the walnuts for about 15 minutes before folding them into the batter and I think that made a huge difference.  At any rate, I received so many compliments that this may make it onto the holiday baked-goods-for-gifts list. (Hey, it’s never too soon to plan for Christmas)

So, if you like to cook, or collect cookbooks, or are just starting to learn how to cook, I can definitely recommend the Bride & Groom First & Forever Cookbook.  It’s helped to bring out my inner domestic goddess.  Which can only be a good thing.  Especially if you tasted my cooking from a couple of years ago.  Sheesh!

2 thoughts on “Unbelievable Banana Bread

  1. I may have to look into this one. FYI

    Buttermilk Substitute

    For each 1 cup buttermilk called for in a recipe, use 1 cup plain yogurt or sour cream;

    OR

    1 tablespoon lemon juice or vinegar plus enough milk to make 1 cup;

    OR

    1 cup milk plus 1 3/4 tablespoons cream of tartar;

  2. Good to know! I knew there had to be an official “equivalent” somewhere, but couldn’t find it in the moment. Of course, lol.

Whatcha Thinkin?

