Home » Uncategorized » Desperate Housewife?

Desperate Housewife?

My posts have been getting fewer and farther apart, and between you and me, I don’t like it one bit.  I’m wondering if I force myself to post daily what the result might be.  I’ve heard to be a successful writer, you must force yourself to write, even if 80% of what comes out of your pen (er, keyboard?) is crap.  I think that statistic might be a bit generous in my case, but oh well.

So here’s what’s on my mind:  It’s Saturday (thank the Lord).  My house is not thrashed for once (Yippee!).  I do have a few household chores to work on, but nothing huge.  (Laundry, bathrooms & litter boxes) This means I can actually enjoy my weekend! (Gasp!)  Apparently my crazed cleaning-spree on Tuesday night really paid off!  I’ve frequently been told (and told myself) that breaking up household chores throughout the week makes for a much nicer weekend.  Turns out to have been good advice.

So, this morning, I’m feeling exceedingly domestic, which happens occasionally to me, don’t panic.  I’m sure if I lay here long enough it will go away.  I ran across some info last night on making one’s own cleaning supplies and laundry detergent and have a perverse desire to give it a try.

Normally I might roll my eyes at the very idea of it, but when I read through the instructions and list of required ingredients, I was surprised at how easy it is.  (Or at least, appears to be)  When you think about it, it wasn’t too terribly long ago that housewives did this sort of thing on a regular basis.  I mean, Tide and Swiffer are relative newcomers to the arena of household cleaning products.  At any rate, if I do venture down that road, I’ll be sure to share my results with you.  Poor hubby gets a bit nervous when I start talking about these kind of projects.  And to be fair, I can’t really blame him.  I’m a mad scientist at best when it comes to making things.  It’s my darn curiosity that always gets the better of me.  I get a list of ingredients and then think, “Hmmm, I wonder what would happen if I used this instead?”  Thankfully, I haven’t actually blown anything up yet, but I’m young yet.  Give me time.  🙂

Whatcha Thinkin?

