Home » Uncategorized » Exercise in Patience?

Exercise in Patience?

I’m working at my 2nd job tonight.  Only two more weeks of this and I’m free!  Not that it’s been a bad experience, but I am looking forward to reclaiming my Monday nights.  For important things, like watching House and painting my toenails.  (If you’d seen my toenails lately, you would know how serious the situation is.)

Tonight is fairly quiet.  Just the hum of the radio, the sound of my fingers on the keyboard, and…the muttering of the student in the corner.  This particular student comes in every Monday evening to use the computers in the resource center.  And he talks to himself. 

All. 
Night. 
Long. 

Ok, it’s not really talking – it’s more like a constant stream of incoherent whispering.  But it is all night long.  Doesn’t matter if he’s typing, surfing, or reading.  He’s whispering the whole time.  Now, I try to be understanding of people with quirks.  After all… look at me.  I’m the Queen of Quirks (I may need a spin-off blog on that topic) and I fully understand that my quirks can be irritating to other people.  But if you know me well at all, you also know that my biggest pet peeves all center around constant, rhythmic, oral noises.  The smack of chewing gum – in fact, the sound of chewing in general – will drive me right on over a cliff.  It is like fingernails on a chalkboard to me.  I don’t know why, but it will push me so far past the point of sanity that I have to leave the room or bitch-slap the perpetrator.  Seriously.  I once put on a pair of headphones to listen to something online, put a cracker in my mouth and nearly had to bitch-slap myself because the sound of my own chewing was too much to bear.

Now, this fine student’s constant whispering actually doesn’t bother me.  It’s the pronouced “sssss” sounds that punctuate the whispering every, oh I don’t know, 5 seconds, that bothers me.  And by “bother” I mean causes flushed skin, tensed muscles and the general countenance of caged animal with bared teeth.  I recognize that this is an overreaction.  However, unlike AA, admitting that I have a problem has not been the first step toward recovery. 

My solution up to now has been to crank my music as loud as I can in hopes of drowning out the ambient noises.  Of course, this isn’t very customer friendly so I’ve taken to roaming the hallways instead.  It’s truly rather pathetic, isn’t it?  I’m wondering if this is why people take up prescription drugs or marajauna.  Wouldn’t it be funny if all the pot-heads out there are really just type-A personalities who were pushed past their limits?

Something to think about..

6 thoughts on “Exercise in Patience?

  1. Mandi –

    I’m so glad I’m not alone in my annoyance. The world seems a little less cold now.

    Anonymous – the only calls I’ve missed are from “restricted” numbers or numbers i don’t recognize. i don’t answer the phone if i don’t know the number, that’s what voicemail is for. Did you leave a message so I would know you were trying to reach me? No? Well then…

  2. Whatever! You never Answer your phone, I give up, BTW its a number that should be in your contacts!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. Ack that’s hilarious =)
    Hey I need to paint my toes too =) We should have a party ;]

  4. As one of the slap-ees NEVER EVER underestimate the wrath of Kayla when provoked by gum snapping.

Whatcha Thinkin?

