Home » Uncategorized » Oh Nose

Oh Nose

I made a disturbing discovery today.  I was at my desk at work, had to blow my nose and afterwards grabbed my mini-mirror to do a “boog” check.  (Oh stop with the “ewws” – you know you do it to0!)  I noticed a small raised bump right next to my nose ring.  I hadn’t noticed it when putting on my makeup this morning, so apparently sometime between 8am and 11am I developed a growth.  For a moment I was concerned that I had developed an infection from the piercing and had visions of my nose falling off, rendering me Sphinx-like.

Fortunately, upon closer inspection, I discovered it was just an average, run-of-the-mill pimple.  Except there was nothing average or run-of-the-mill about it.  The minute I spotted it and ran my finger ever so lightly over it, it immediately turned bright red and grew about 3 inches.  (I jest, I jest!)  I decided I’d better remove my nose ring so as to more effectively “tackle” the issue.  The problem with that course of action is that my nose ring is not just a simple “hook” shape.  It’s like a hook with a twist, so it took a little tugging and twisting to remove it.  Which only further irritated my poor little (big) nose.  I ultimately was successful though and was able to do the requisite mashing and squeezing.  At my desk.  At work.  (I sooo would have benefited from finishing school… but that’s another post)  If it makes you feel better, there was literally no one around and I used hand sanitizer afterwards.

12 hours later I am sans nose ring and instead have a round little red spot on my nose.  It’s actually obscuring the site of the piercing so I can’t even put my ring back in until the swelling goes down.  I just hope the hole doesn’t heal up while I’m deal with this.  Not that I’d be bothered by another trip to the piercing parlor, it’s just that I’m afraid another wild hair will strike me while I’m there and I’d walk out with my husbands initials tatooed somewhere special.   (Breathe Mom, just breathe)

Now I plan on washing my face, treating the offending pimple and trying desperately to stop touching it.  It’s harder than you think.  I still have the scars on my forehead from when I had chicken-pox as a child.  Wish me luck.  If it gets much worse I might have to post a picture of it and I think we can all agree that the internet just doesn’t need that kind of imagery.

4 thoughts on “Oh Nose

  1. I don’t know whether to be flattered or apalled that my skin conditions are so highly entertaining… lol

  2. Lol I totally did this a while back. But I got so scared that the hole was going to close up that I put the ring back directly after….it hurt a freaking lot =(
    Hope it gets better love!

Whatcha Thinkin?

