Home » Uncategorized » Home again, home again, lickety-split

Home again, home again, lickety-split

Sorry for the lack of blogging the last couple of days.  The hotel we stayed in on Thursday night had internet connectivity issues and I was so tired by the time we made it home yesterday that I immediately crashed.

We left Long Beach on Thursday morning, and after a quick stop for espresso and scones, headed for home.   I admit to feeling a bit melancholy as we headed out of town – I so enjoyed our visit and I didn’t want to go home.  The morning light was beautiful, and I snapped the following pic of the Astoria-Mengler bridge:


This is only the first 3rd of the bridge – it spans the entire Columbia River!

Then we were on the road, winding back through Astoria to reach the freeway.  As we approached Portland, I kept my eye on the exit signs pretty closely.  You see, on our way to the coast last Sunday, I noticed a particular store that I have always wanted to visit and we made plans to stop on the way home.


It’s IKEA!!!

For those of you who don’t know, Ikea is a Swedish (in origin) home furnishings store whose concept is “based on offering a wide range of well designed, functional home furnishing products at prices so low that as many people as possible will be able to afford them.”  Their prices are FANTASTIC and their products are just…well, cool!  Modern in design, many with a funky twist. 

A few of my favorite purchases:


A french press “Kaffe” maker – I’ve been wanting one forever
but they were just too expensive here – nabbed this one for just $12.

A tea infuser so I can enjoy loose tea at work – only $2.99

 

The “Dralla” chopping board – 2 for $1.79

Like most people, I love getting great things for a decent price.  I am a total convert to Ikea.  Check out their website, all this and more!

After Ikea, we were ready for lunch, so proceeded on to Troutdale, where we had lunch at a small cafe and did a tiny bit more window shopping.  Then it was off to Pendleton – a pretty uneventful drive.  We did stop for a “potty break” at a neat little park and I snapped a few more pics. 

 

 
We fed the ducks some leftover bread we had – I couldn’t get a shot
that showed it well, but we had a true mob – ducks, geese and seagulls!

We arrived in Pendleton around 6ish, and stayed at the Oxford Suites there.  Nothing really exciting from that point on.  The next day we had a late start and didn’t end up leaving Pendleton until almost noon.  I woke up feeling nauseous and light-headed and so delegated the driving duties to Val.  I snoozed off and on in the back seat until we made it back to Caldwell, where we had the grand task of dividing out everybody’s stuff.  Then it was on the road for one final stretch to Boise.  I have never been so happy to see my little home and sleep in my own bed.  It’s been pure heaven.

Whatcha Thinkin?

