Home » Uncategorized » What? It’s not about me?

What? It’s not about me?

I’m working tonight at my 2nd job and find myself extremely bored and highly irritable.  God must be trying to teach me patience.  Patience with others.  Patience with myself.  Patience.  Patience.  Patience.   

The problem is (wait for it…wait for it…), I don’t want to be patient!  (Quit saying “I could have told you that”)  You see, I want it all, and I want it all right now!!  As Veruca Salt says (er, sings) in Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, “I want the world, I want the whole world, I want to lock it all up in my pocket, it’s my bar of chocolate, give it me NOW!”

I’m sitting here grumbling to myself about needy students and needier faculty members and how hungry I feel and how hubby said he’d bring me dinner tonight and it’s going on 8 o’clock and still nothing, and how irritating the music on the radio is and WAIT A MINUTE!!! STOP!!!

The truth is, I’m paid to be working tonight.  I’m being paid to help students and faculty members get what they need and where they need to go.  Furthermore, my hubby does not have to be doing anything for me.  It’s his day off.  His day to sleep in and relax and do the stuff that he wants to do.  Bringing me a little nourishment because I failed to plan ahead is something he doesn’t have to be doing.  He does it (I hope) well, because he loves me.  And there it is.  My little attitude adjustment for the day.

So my apologies to the students and faculty and most of all, my dear hubby, for my less than acceptable attitude.  I know I’m not perfect, but there are moments, like tonight, where my imperfections become blazingly obvious to me.  The lightbulb clicks on and I get it.  At least for this moment in time.

2 thoughts on “What? It’s not about me?

  1. No apology necessary. We all have our moments.

    Love you Baby!! Hope you enjoyed the dinner I brought.

Whatcha Thinkin?

