Home » Uncategorized » Torture

Torture

So I have today off from my regular job (thanks to President’s Day) and offered to “mind the shop” for my good friend Mandi.  For those of you who haven’t checked out her blogs (here and here) Mandi owns and runs Veritas Fine Books and Coffeehouse, which is only about 5 minutes away from where I live.  She also has two very young boys, and rarely gets a day off. 

I thought it would be nice to offer Mandi a day off and surround myself with books and relative quiet to aid in my own reading project (ah my own selfish motives become apparent).  However, I forgot one little thing.  I made a new years resolution not to buy any more books until I had read the ones I have.  Yet, here I am.

Surrounded.
By Books.
I Can’t Buy.
But Really Want To.

And there’s no way I can read through all of them while I’m here.  <Sigh>

I’m currently having an internal debate as to whether it would be a violation of my promise to place a few books on hold…

5 thoughts on “Torture

  1. be glad you have a life.

    one day all you’ll have si memories

    you’ll watch instead of do… remember instead of experience..

    read instead of live….

  2. Huh….
    Anyway, that was super nice of you to watch the store for Mimi! And it was awesome to see you last night. Yeah I’m thinking it is a violation to put them on hold. I totally understand though. I am reading 6 different books right now and have four more that I had to make my self NOT start until the others are done. Some days it is pure torture.

  3. Ha! I didn’t have to break any vows…Mandi gave me the books I’d placed on hold. Bwa-ha-ha-ha-ha!!! Don’t worry, I’ll put them at the “bottom” of the stack of ones I’m current reading.

Whatcha Thinkin?

