Home » Uncategorized » A Kinder Family Thanksgiving

A Kinder Family Thanksgiving

Hubby and I had to spend a good part of Thanksgiving apart this year due to his work schedule.  So I hitched a ride with my Grandma, Aunt Val and Uncle Gary and we went to my parents house (about 1 1/2 hours away) to celebrate.  My younger brother and his wife spent the day with her family, and my older brothers wife and my 2 nephews were in California visiting grandparents.  So it was a different crowd than we’re used to – no kid’s table this year.  Just my parents, older brother, grandma, aunt & uncle.  And me of course!

The first thing I noticed when I walked into the house was Scruffy, (the only surviving pet from our childhood) and her new pink rose collar.  My mother recently discovered a line of pet accessories titled “Le Purri” and according to her, Scruff is a big fan.  (Which is not what Scruff told me, but who am I to argue?)

thanksgiving-002.jpg

Mom had already decked out the table with the appropriate Thanksgiving finery  – well done!

thanksgiving-004.jpg

In no time, my aunt, mom and grandma were busy at work in the kitchen, pulling together the last minute details.

thanksgiving-006.jpg

The men helped too, in their own way, by staying out from underfoot, and offering up grunts of approval during commercial breaks.

thanksgiving-005.jpg

The meal was very traditional: turkey, mashed potatoes, stuffing, cranberry salad, green beans and hot rolls.  Yum Yum!!  When I wandered into the kitchen afterward to assess the damage, this is all that was left of the bird…

thanksgiving-001.jpg

 Definitely not it’s best moment.

The good news is that I was able to bring plenty of leftovers home to my sweetie so he could have a mini-Thanksgiving with me later in the evening.  And I got to have two Thanksgiving meals in the same day!  Ahhh!  The best of both worlds!

5 thoughts on “A Kinder Family Thanksgiving

  1. No prob Niki. I totally understand – I’m gonna try to come down for a weekend sometime before we leave for AZ at Christmas time so we can visit.

  2. Hmmmm, ALMOST sorry I missed the fun. Almost. Oh, OK. I wish I had been there. I sometimes hate the industry I work in due to the family engagements I miss.

    Love YOU!!

    T

Whatcha Thinkin?

